MountaineerGreen

Towing Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Reaction score
City, State
North East Arkansas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2012 F150 4x4
Week after next, before Christmas, I have a few days off and am going to make some sliders. :D

I am going to buy a used chop saw on ebay and should have it before I get ready to start.

I have read many, many slider threads and have the general idea of what I want to do, but am debating on what materials to use.

Round?
Square?

Cold Rolled?
DOM?

I am leaning towards some heavy wall approx 2"- 3" round tubing to try to keep a factory running boards kind of look. I will remove my factory steps and put these in their place. I looked at a 4 door X today with factory tube style steps, and I think I will mimic that general style and spacing.

I am new to this whole sliders thing, so your input would be much appreciated- thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I dont think you should ask us or else we'll "taint" your creative mind. I say you go with what you feel works, build it, and then post pics :D I'm sure you can come up with concepts that are unique. Just dont spend the extra $$ on DOM and save it for the X-mas presents :D

I'd go with 2x3x1/4" wall rect tubing for the bars and then 2"x2"x1/4" wall square for the arms and 1/4" plate for the mounts to the frame.. Just look at my old truck's slider thread.. Those suckers worked great..

I'd go with 2x3x1/4" wall rect tubing for the bars and then 2"x2"x1/4" wall square for the arms and 1/4" plate for the mounts to the frame.. Just look at my old truck's slider thread.. Those suckers worked great..