• Register Today It's free!

Whining Noise When Accelerating

94EddieBauerRock

Reaction score
City, State
Champaign, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 Eddie Bauer
I have done some searching but haven't found anyone with the same problems as I have.
When I accelerate there is a loud whining sound coming from the transmission/driveline area. It only makes the sound when I accelerate and when I am cruising. I don't notice the sound at speeds lower than 40mph. It is a very annoying humming whine. When I let off the accelerator the sound goes away. The transmission seems to be shifting fine. I checked the tranny fluid (warm engine, flat surface, idling), it seemed a little low so I added some. This didn't help anything.
I am no mechanic but have some theories.
-Transmission?
-wheel bearing?
-Front axle?
If anybody could give me some help I would really appreciate it. Also wanted to mention that I searched for a vacuum leak and didn't find one.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

check your fan blade. it may be locked up if its coming from underhood. when its off and warm, it should turn fairly easy. when cold it'll be a bit harder to turn. also when its running you'll feel a lot more air going towards the engine. have someone rev it while you are lookin and you should be able to pin point where the sound is coming from.

Thanks for the info. I'll try that. The sound doesn't seem to occur unless I am moving though. I'll try what you suggested though..don't think I've listened to it rev, just idle.

mine is a five speed and wines in every gear except 4th. when in accelarating. i was told it was normal since the trans had been rebuilt and beefed up.

My 02 explorer sport also has the same problem, it runs fine.