• Register Today It's free!

Error Messages

Loren R

Reaction score
City, State
Reno, NV and volunteer at: GRSM, GRCA, ZION, GRTE and YOSE
Year, Model & Trim Level
08 Sport Trac Limited V8
On a somewhat regular basis, I get an error message that my RR Turn Light is out. It's not. I turn off the key, re-start the engine and suddenly my LR Turn Light is out. (It's not either). I re-start again and its back to RR Turn Light out. After a couple of tries, the problem clears and works normally for a week or two then it happens again.

My rig is wired for towing behind my motorhome, and I installed diodes to run the lights from the motorhome. I've checked the wiring, and everything is clean and connected properly.

Any suggestions on what else I might check?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I am not an electrical engineer and I do not fully understand electrical circuit concepts but I do have a very very rudimentary understanding of the concept of an electrical circuit. I agree that if you faithfully followed the instructions for adding to your rear light circuits then you should not have a problem. The questions that come to mind are:
1) Did the circuit modification instructions come from a reputable source (no offense intended if you are an electrical engineer)?
2) Is it possible you overheated an electrical component during the soldering process which may produce the faults in the circuit test (again no offense intended if you are an experienced electrical engineer or technician)?
3) Do the lights work correctly even when the error is displayed?

Was there a problem with the error codes prior to the rewire?