• Register Today It's free!

No Remote Start App

Ted K

Reaction score
City, State
Old Bethpage, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Ford Explorer Platin
So, prior to taking delivery of my 2017 Platinum on Wed, I've been driving GMC's for 6 years, and the onstar remote app that lets you remote lock, unlock, locate and start the vehicle from distances further than the remote will allow is awesome and something I use often. Before ordering the Platinum, I reviewed the Sync, FordPass and other web pages and it seemed pretty clear this was available. I only find out now that while we have Sync 3, we don't have Sync Connect. No, it's not in a $54k Explorer, but it is standard in a very modest priced Focus. Ford, what gives?? Who in this day and age doesn't have a remote start app when remote start is standard in the vehicle. So, what did the dealer say; well for $599, plus $49 a month (not too concerned about the monthly fee), he can install last year's system. Wow, that's a crazy price when you can install a Viper remote start for $149 and has it's own app. So, has anyone done this, I mean installed after market remote start to all for an app, vs. using the OEM remote start. Or, has anyone added the $599 module from Ford Accessories. Would love some input.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I don't think it's available in the Focus except for the Electric model, which is a whole speciality into why that application is needed there.

But to that point, the Escape features it pretty prominently.

In any event, I have the Ford Remote Access application. I installed it myself for way less than that price, maybe in the mid 3s. It is useful for what I need it to accomplish and the price isn't horrible either--plus that also gives you an impact sensor for the alarm system. Keep in mind it's $49 per year, not per month.