• Register Today It's free!

Won't start :-(

wfelter2000

Reaction score
City, State
Catskill
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Ford Ranger XLT
Hi all! I'm new to the forum and also I'm no mechanic. LOL My brother-in-law is the mechanic, has his own shop. My problem... I purchased a 97 Ford Ranger XLT Extended Cab 4.0L 4WD a couple of months ago. So far we replaced bad universals on 4wd, front brake pads, all filters and liquids(oil, transfer case, tranny etc), new transfer case shift motor and new fuel pump assembly. He said the fuel pump didn't sound good, making grinding sounds. Sometimes it wouldn't start after setting for awhile. Sometimes the only way I could start it was with starting fluid. Now that we're done with it I took it for a test drive and when I would slow down to turn around it would stall and only start with starting fluid. We got it back to his shop and he did a fuel pressure test. 28 psi at idle for a few minutes then slowly dropped to 18 psi. Then it would drop to 10 psi and stall. So we ordered a new fuel pump. Have to wait for him to have time to drop fuel tank and replace just the pump. Are we on the right track? Thanks for any help!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Sure seems like a bad fuel pump, or a clogged fuel intake screen that's attached to the fuel pump. I think you are on the right track.

Welcome to the forum.

Welcome to this forum! Remove the vacuum line from the fuel pressure regulator while the fuel test gauge is connected to see if the pressure increases. This is a simple test to check the fuel pressure regulator. Check the vaccum line for fuel leaking from the regulator.