New to the site..and new to the Explorer world (problem inside) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New to the site..and new to the Explorer world (problem inside)

Richard Means

Reaction score
City, State
Mooresville
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Explorer Limited
Hey there, I'm new to the Explorer game here. Just picked up a 2006 Explorer Limited and have picked up an issue. I let the truck sit for a couple weeks at home, came out today to start it and noticed the "door open" light is on and the parking brake light is on the dash and won't go off. I did some searching and seem some threads on here about using WD-40 on the latches, so I tried that (all 4 doors, rear gate and the rear glass) with no success.

I also noticed that none of my dash lights are working (the ones behind the tach, Speedo, turn signals, brights etc) all of the lights themselves function as they should on the exterior of the vehicle. When I turn the headlight switch it turns the appropriate lights on on the outside of the truck as well and all the HVAC and steering wheel lights work as they should, but again nothing on the dash besides the info center, parking brake and "open door" light.

Hopefully someone has had a similar experience and figured it out.

Thanks in Advance,
Ricky:help:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Was it sitting outside or inside a garage? How long ago did you you buy it that everything was OK?

was a couple weeks outside, got it about a month ago and everything worked fine. Only thing I can recall is one time I rolled the dimmer and it took a minute for the lights to come back bright

Then I would guess one of two things - water intrusion or a weak battery. I would drive it and see if it clears up.