Starting problem | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Starting problem

Firebird68

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Explorer Eddie Bauer
Hi Everyone, I'm new to all this stuff, so bare with me. Here is a problem that is stumping me. Have a 03 Explorer, 4.0 litre. It starts great first thing in the morning. Idles great. After you have driven somewhere and shut it off and let it sit for a bit, when starting it again, it will catch,but only idle at about 300 then die. Turn key off then try starting it again, it fires right up.
Fuel pump and filter less than year old. If fuel pressure was bleeding off,it would be hard starting first thing not after it's been run. If it's left for a couple of hours, starts first try.
New IAC put on. Acts the same as with old one. Sometimes it will fire up,idle at 300,sounds like it's ready to die, then it seems the IAC kicks in and then idles fine.
Tried different ways of starting. Turn key on,wait 4-5 sec for pump to run,no change. Turn key on, let pump run, turn it off, then back on and try, no change.
This one has me stumped and a friend of mine,who is a mechanic, so any help would be great. Sometimes another set of eyes on a problem can see stuff that we don't.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I had a totally different vehicle with a similar problem, turned out to be the coolant temp sensor that told the ECU the temp. (It had 3 coolant temp sensors, 1 for ECU, 1 for cooling fan, and one for the gauge).

The temp sensor is worth checking as it's inexpensive . You can remove it and bench test it. Use a ohm meter to check it, cold should give a consistent reading as well as hot. If it's never been changed I'd consider just replacing it. Not sure if this is your issue but this might help the troubleshooting process