6" lift w/TTB = LOTS of negative camber | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

6" lift w/TTB = LOTS of negative camber

Cameron Romans

Reaction score
City, State
Dallas
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994, Explorer, limited
I'm somewhat new to working on vehicles, and talking about it on forums, so cut me some slack please.

To begin with, I bought a 94 explorer 4x4 with a few things messed up on it.(blown Head Gasket, windows wont roll up/down, a/c-heater are out, tires have bad negative camber, gets the "death wobble" over 50mph, and it needs some exhaust work).

Anyways majority of it is fairly simple, the only thing that stumps me is the negative camber and all of the front suspension stuff.

The truck came with a 6" lift and 35" tires (from what ive read, big lifts+TTB=no bueno). I bought a chilton manual and repaired the H.G successfully, so now it runs perfect.

I'm just stumped on this next obstacle, the TTB suspension. The tires are entirely bald on the inside edge, and they tilt /--\. and Whenever I turn it, the tires tilt outwards in the direction im steering \--/. Also whenever i rock the Explorer back and forth it makes a loud clicking/clanking noise somewhere in the front suspension, the shocks also have alot of play in them, im sure the springs need to be replaced too. I know the radius arm bushings are worn out, but i have a feeling that isn't the only issue. You can also see in one of the pictures below that there is a tow strap connecting the radius arms, don't ask me why it's there, the previous owner did it.

So before i go all rambo on my front suspension id like a few pointers, maybe some of you explorer veterans can shed some light on my issues. A list of possible solutions to my camber issue would be great. I also don't want to hear how difficult something might be for a beginner blah blah blah. I have common sense, and know how to read a workshop manual, so ill be good.
IMG_4107.JPG
IMG_4186.JPG
IMG_4194.jpg