• Register Today It's free!

5w-30

Belo

Reaction score
City, State
Rochester, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Explorer Limited
short: anyone run 5w-30 with good/bad experience?

2015 explorer limited. v6 (no eco). 25k miles.

story
Place an online order through autozone for 6 quarts of 5w-20 mobile one synthetic yesterday. Picked it up today to do the oil change. Running a bunch of errands to get ready for the game and not paying attention. Do the change, nice and clean and it's not until I go to dump the old oil back into the bottles that I noticed my 5 quarts was 5w-30... The single quart was the correct 5w-20. Receipt and order were both correct.

So I'm an engineer and **** about stuff (hence doing my own oil changes in upstate ny winter). Google shows mixed results stating mostly that i'll be ok. However it could reduce mileage, hp and cause extra wear. It also seems that newer cars have tighter specs. So I plan to go back to see if they'll refund me 6 new quarts. But curious if they don't what risk i'm in? I probably wouldn't care if just the single quart was off. Has anyone ran 5w-30?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

5W-30 is what is recommended for the Ecoboost engine. I can't see any issues running it in the NA 3.5L V6. My 2017 Ecoboost uses 5W-30. All the oil I've used in my 2011 Ex, 2014 MKT and current Platinum has been regular non synthetic oil.
Also, please complete your registration by adding the now 'Required' "Trim Level" (Limited) to your profile so it appears in the margin. That can be useful info to have at times. Thank you

Peter