Recent content by Capt. K-9 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Recent content by Capt. K-9

1. C

4 cylinder engine swap?

FORD HAS NOT MADE A 4 CYLINDER EXPLORER UNTIL RECENTLY. THAT SAID, THE 2.3 4CYLINDER WOULD FIT, YOUD NEED A DONER TRUCK TO GET ALL THE CONNECTIONS/HOSE/WIRING RIGHT ETC. iT WOULD LIKELY GET THE SAME MILAGE AS THE 6. YOU MAY FAIR BETTER WITH A V8 SWAP... BEEN DONE THAT ROAD, HIGHWAY ECONOMY...
  2. C

2.0 eco rattle

Assuming average skill level...having the axle out, the hub also out of the way. Big help... especially if your one handed... But then again I’m old, turbos didn’t exist in cars when I was turning wrenches for a living... except in some really old stuff like Packard and the monsters of the...
  3. C

2.0 eco rattle

Axle must come out. No special tools, be sure to replace the axle but and trans seal when reassembling. Drain and measure trans fluid, should not be more than 6 Quarts, but you don’t want to over fill during reassembly, there is no way to tell how much it has in it. Coolant reservoir is...
  4. C

2.0 eco rattle

New turbo forced a couple sensor replacements within a few hundred miles, not surprising. We have put a few thousand miles on it, switches to running premium fuel and drivability has definitely improved, gas miliGe is better than ever, nearly 2 miles to a gallon average. Total cost was 1500...
  5. C

2.0 eco rattle

It would be a long video Would not attempt it if you don’t have mechanical skills and some solid experience, If you do it yourself take the cold air plumbing completely off, the strut brace will need to be removed. Drain the engine violent, engine oil and the transmission (taking care to...
  6. C

2.0 eco rattle

Yes, ours was shattered, trans seal was a mess, dog bone ditroyed from fluid leak degrading the rubber, and the crazy issues the wiggling axle created. Could have been bad.
  7. C

2.0 eco rattle