Recent content by rewind1 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Recent content by rewind1

1. rewind1

2005 explorer 4.0 into 2003 explorer body ???

Yeah, i'd have to agree with @Tech By Trade I know there is at least one difference in that the later 3rd gens switched to electronic throttlebody. I'm sure there are other changes as well so using the long block and swapping accessories seems like a good plan.
  2. rewind1

Explorer to Aviator front brake upgrade

Thanks for getting back. I ended up using the avi lines like @87350gta since it looked like they needed a lot less bending. Brakes are working but I feel like there is a lot of pedal travel. Bled the lines twice. Think I'm going to do a full flush and change fluid out for new stuff.
  3. rewind1

Explorer to Aviator front brake upgrade

@firefly1246, I'm in the middle of my upgrade now. Did you use the explorer brake lines on the aviator calipers? The aviator lines run upward off the caliper while the explorer lines run down and then curve back up very close to the caliper. I don't think they'll fit around the larger aviator...
  4. rewind1

Thoughts on SKF X-Tracker Wheel Hubs?

I'm wondering if anyone has experience with/used SKF X-Tracker Hubs. Supposedly they have a double bearing design and may be a solution to the weak hubs we are all used to on these 3rd Gens. Here is the part page from SKF https://www.vsm.skf.com/us/en/products/BR930456 and a video on the...
  5. rewind1

2003 Explorer NBX 4.6L V8

I was looking for a roof basket and found this beauty. Seems to be in great condition from the pics and at a fair price, especially for the (somewhat rare) NBX. Selfishly, I tried to buy the roof basket off him but he's not interested at this time. So I hope someone here can pick this up...
  6. rewind1

*DIY homelink garage opener to LED Conversion

@fedyfedz I'm very interested in what you did but I can't see the pics. Any chance you can update this?
  7. rewind1