• Register Today It's free!

5R55E Reverse shudder when hot

Gregc99XLS

Reaction score
City, State
Brookville, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 Explorer XLS
Hi, I'm totally new to Explorers and this transmission so bare with me. I've read a lot about the reverse issues that seem to plague these units. I got the vehicle cheap since the reverse was acting up. It has 131,000 miles. Otherwise its in good shape, doesn't seem to have been abused etc. I was told it would pretty much loose reverse when it warmed up. So I dug in and installed a Sonnax Zip kit, all new solenoids, new reverse servo, VB gaskets etc. I'm pretty sure I got the VB lined up right. Now when I was in there I basically did not find one problem I could see. Which had me a little worried since I like to know what the issue is for certain. No blown gaskets or O-rings or any metal or sludge in the pan. Now after replacing all these components it drives great in forward, seems to shift fine. Reverse works great when cold but starts shuddering and not wanting to move after the vehicle is well warmed up. It will be worse at some points like when climbing a small grade. I noticed after one of these fits it seemed to stumble a little when I left it idle after reversing. The idle seemed higher and did not go down right away. Could there be a computer issue that's affecting it while in reverse? Like I said all new solenoids so shouldn't be any problem there. Check engine light is on also so I assume there is a code but I haven't tried to read it yet. I hope its just that and not rebuild time! Also the reverse servo piston pin was starting to crack and the end was mushroomed just slightly. I wonder if the band has an indentation in it also that's making extra slack. Don't know if this would be any issue though since reverse is good when cold.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.