1993 Ford Explorer XLT Fuel Gauge Not Working | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1993 Ford Explorer XLT Fuel Gauge Not Working

Liam Moonan

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Ford Explorer XLT
Hi, the fuel gauge on my 1993 Ford explorer xlt hasn't been working for quite some time. I bought it in late August, and the previous owner said he got the fuel pump replaced 3-4 years ago, and when he got it back the fuel gauge stopped working. I believe it has to do with the wiring in the tank because all the other gauges work fine, but I have no experience with this type of thing. If anyone has a diagram for the tank, that'd be great. I suspect it's the ground wire, but wouldn't that mean the fuel pump wouldn't work? It pumps fuel to the engine fine. Any help is greatly appreciated. :)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would like to know this as well. Mine doesn't work either. However mine will sometimes work periodically once in a blue moon for a little while. Particularly during a very long drive. Does yours do this as well? Or have you literally never seen it move ever?

There is a float on the sender/pump unit. It's attached to the pump/sender unit via a metal arm. It looks kind of like an old-style toilet tank float, and works kinda the same way, for lack of a better mental image. The float floats on top of the gas and moves up and down with the level of gas in the tank.

Some brands of fuel pumps floats do not behave well -- it's a good idea to hook them up outside the tank prior to install, and test the float arm position vs. your fuel gauge before install. Also -- I've seen the float develop a leak, and then it sinks to the bottom of the tank and never rises (giving you an empty tank reading on your gauge).