Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Bterrell

Reaction score
City, State
Springfield
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 ford explorer xlt
Has anyone ever replaced the r.f. axle bearing in a 1998 explorer AWD? It's not the one at the hub but in the axle housing. I'm a tech at a caddy dealer have limited resources but hard u need a special tool. Is it true and can u do it without the tool. TIA.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I can't speak from personal experience, but I'm guessing you remove the CV axle and use a slide hammer with the same type of attachment you'd use to pull out the rear axle bearing. Then to install the new bearing you could use a bearing installer tool (maybe need a length pipe due to the depth).

I've seen this type of bearing replaced on the Trucks TV show and IIRC that's how they did it. If you have an O'Reilly store where you live, they seem to have the best quality of loaner tools you can borrow (with a deposit of course), but I'm sure other stores (AutoZone, Advance, NAPA) loan similar tools. If something special is required for this job they may have it as a loaner tool a well.

I'm about to begin collecting parts to rebuild two of my front diff's. I've got the stuff coming to do my AWD transfer case, the viscous clutch showed up today(cute little thing). I think a blind bearing puller is what may be the specialty tool for those bearings. I bought one to do the AWD pilot bearing, but I already have axle bearing puller tools. The axle bearing pullers are rented by all the parts stores, I've used those many times. There are three sizes in those kits, one may work fro that small front axle bearing.