Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. Z

Wheel Well liner Replacement?

Mine ripped too when I was putting plugs in last week....search a while and could not find anything. What worked was to lay the two pieces on the wokr bench, drilled small holes in each piece and use zip ties to sinch them back together.... Pretty??? no......functional, YES...
  2. Z

Am I stupid or what???

The biggest issue is, of course, that the catalytic converter is directly underneath the transmission pan....it concerns me that there is no heat shield on this converter as it is got to be heating up the transmission fluid....
  3. Z

Am I stupid or what???

:roll:Modesty aside, I am a pretty good mechanic. So, I thought it would be a good idea to change the tranny fuild and filter in my "new" 97 Explorer. I loosen the bolts, drain most of the fluid, take out all the bolts, and the dammm pan will not come out of the truck. For over an hour, I...
  4. Z

Solved Why change fuel filter?

Thanks for the tips...I will give it another shot tomorrow....
  5. Z

Lucas Transmission fix, worth it?

I think the Lucas stuff is pretty good...I used thier 85/140 gear oil in the read end and it did help quiet down the rumbling and whining...not totally, but a big improvement. I changed the tranny filter and fluid, so I put in a bottle of Lucas tranny fix just to be on the safe side....really...
  6. Z

Solved Why change fuel filter?

Yikes....I bought a new fuel filter for mine, and tried to change it, but could not get those silly connectors offof the filter...I have the special ford tool to pop it loose, but it just would not budge...then I read in the Haines manual that the fuel filter is set "for the life of the vehicle"...
  7. Z

Rear end whining