Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. 0

How To: Replacing Upper Ball Joints on a 3rd Gen 4x4 [Pictures]

I can say all the ones I have ever done on these trucks have came loose and popped out of the arm. I am a master certified mechanic and work in a busy chain shop, I see a lot of these. When I did mine last weekend I didn't hesitate to get the welder out. These also remind me of the lowers on the...
  2. 0

Post #77 Brian. There has also been a few other threads started on this problem.
  3. 0

2005 explorer lift?

eBay listing # 220977464488
  4. 0

I finally got around to doing mine last weekend, I removed the lift spacers at the same time. (they are for sale BTW) I can tell everyone this, you WILL HAVE TO TACK WELD them to the upper arm. I guarantee 100% that they will pop out of the arm if not welded in.
  5. 0

wanted: black headlights

I got mine on ebay, 125 with matching corners.
  6. 0

04-- 4.0 all 4 chains replaced. completely gunked why?

3 Words Cheap Oil Changes!!!!!!!! Quick lubes and just about all chain shops use the cheapest bulk oil they can find! I know this from first hand experience. The chain shop I USED to work at was the worst! They would spend days trying to find the cheapest oil and filters they could, they had...
  7. 0

Timing Chain Tensioners

First what type of oil and filter are you using? Second, the engine has to be removed to change the rear cassette and chain.
  8. 0

new lower ball joint front with camber offset?

The camber correction kits for these trucks go on the upper control arms where they attach to the frame.
  9. 0

Abs Light on w/no code

Yep you need a better scanner! I just upgraded mine, I got a Snap-On Solis Pro, set me back $4,100 bucks!
  10. 0

Hub assembly.

Sounds like you and the 3 "mechanics" have misdiagnosed your problem. Try installing the bearing you removed in the first place on the other side.
  11. 0

EGR stuff sucks!!!