Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. 9

Part time knock??

Ok so I have what sounds like a rod knock but only between 2500-3k and only in 1-2 gear some times in 3rd. It will go away for a week or two then come back for a few days then gone again. It's got me baffled no knock or tap on cold start and nothing in nutrual . And oil viscosity makes no...
  2. 9

In need of m5r2 rpm

Ok so I've been thinking my tach is off but not sure. I've noticed with my 32.8 in tall tires and 3.73 gears I turn 2k rpm in 4th at 45 and 3k at 65 really doesn't seem right at all. Can I get what every one else gets with a 33 in 4th or 1:1 please
  3. 9

OBX header install

OK so I got my OBX headers on my biggest fight was with the rest of the exhaust but nothing a heel bar couldn't help with. Driver side went in no problems passenger side to more effort but I did not have to pull the engine mount. Now remember I'm an auto tech so I have a box full of tools that...
  4. 9

New take on leaf springs

OK so I decided to try a different route on getting lift from my springs by adding a spring and so far the results are great. I will get some pics and do a write up here in a bit, but I will say it involves using a f250/350 overload spring.
  5. 9

1.7 roller rockers or cam swap

So I have a 96 explorer 5.0 I'm looking for a bit more tq, should I go with 1.7 roller rockers or a cam?
  6. 9

I'm back

I'm not new here but have been gone for over a year, I sold my ex and regretted it so now after hunting I found it and as of tonight it is mine again. It needs some work, steering column, power steering pump, grill, and hood snags on cowl. But my 5speed with np205 and carb swap still working great.
  7. 9

F303 cam swap