Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. J

Transmission troubles.. Convert 4x4 trans and transfercase in a 4.0?

I was hoping to just make a stand alone controller for the 4x4 with some relays and a couple switches. Is this out of the question? I have some experience doing electrical controls. If this isn't an option can you point me towards a standalone that would work with that transfer case?
  2. J

I didn't install a clutch pedal, truck was already a manual, I just put a 4x4 trans / transfer case into a 2wd truck. Clutch switch is wired in already, there doesn't seem to be a neutral safety switch on the new trans, there was on the old one but I really don't need this, I have experience...
  3. J

Transmission is in, everything is bolted up, I am not used to driving a vehicle with a fresh clutch, haha it really grabs. Now I need to figure out the wiring for the transfer case to give me a 2 low in the meantime until it is converted to 4x4 completely. Manhandling in that trans and...
  4. J

My friend and I got the trans bolted up today, we did it with the transfer case attached, that was way heavier than pulling the old 2wd trans. My truck is not an automatic, it is a manual. I am only doing conversion to a transfer case for now, I will do a full 4x4 conversion at a later point...
  5. J

Change Wires when Changing Plugs? Broke Wires Again.

I lose about half my wires whenever I pull the plugs as well. The heat kind of glues the plastic in the boot to the plugs, making it really difficult to pull them.
  6. J

Shiny transmission. It took 3 hours for my friend and I to pull it, it should have only taken an hour and a half but pick n pull doesnt allow you to use any kind of jack because lawyers... this includes transmission jacks. So they don't let you use something to make the job safer, because they...
  7. J