Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. C

Anyone have experience with installing a tranny rebuild kit?

I have a master rebuild kit I purchased for my 5R55S and I just want to make sure I hit all the seals, gaskets, etc. If anyone has done this before I'd love to hear how your experience went and if you have any tips/suggestions. I have already pulled the tranny and have some hard parts on order...
  2. C

How much clearance needed to pull tranny from 2004 XLS?

Hi, I'm about to do a rebuild on my '04 XLS. How much room do I need underneath so I can clear the transmission from the vehicle? Considering the height of the tranny jack I'm thinking it would need a lot of room. Thanks
  3. C

Can anybody recommend a good transmission rebuild kit for the 5R55S?

I've got 175K on my 2004 Explorer and in dropping the transmission pan last weekend, I found bits of brass pieces making me think my clutches are shot which explains the shift flare I have been experiencing over the past month. I see some that say Motorcraft Master Overhaul Kit is good
  4. C

Whining noise coming from rear passenger side

I have a doozie for you guys... I've been living with this over the past few years... I drive highway in my daily commute to work and every time I reach 55mph I start to hear a whining coming from my rear passenger side (around the tank area). It slowly increases in volume as I speed up then...
  5. C

Bad AM reception from radio... Where are the ground connections in the engine bay?

Hi, I have really bad static coming from my AM radio stations. Along with the static I can hear the whine coming through the speakers when the engine revs up as it increases speed. I was thinking of cleaning all my ground connections in my engine bay to see if that would help alleviate the...
  6. C

Power windows not working.