Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. Mikey98Ex5.0

General 4th Gen Questions

Hey everyone, I finally found a clean 2009 Limited with pretty much all the options I was looking for, mainly the 4.6L V8. It has 127.5K miles and it runs pretty nice. Rides much better then my old '98. I plan to replace all fluids like front and rear diffs, trans, transfer case, power...
  2. Mikey98Ex5.0

2009-2010 6R transmission question

Hey guys, I currently have a 1998 Explorer with the 5.0 but sadly she’s getting tired and rusty. I’ve been keeping an eye out for a 2009-2010 Limited with the 4.6L. From what I’ve read, it looks like the 2006-2008 had the 6R60 and the 2009-2010 got the 6R80? I like that the 6R80 sounds like...
  3. Mikey98Ex5.0

Want to buy: 99+ evap canister bracket

Anyone have a 99+ evap charcoal canister bracket laying around? The one on my 98 is pretty much rotted off and the canister is probably going to fall any day now. Let me know!! Thanks!
  4. Mikey98Ex5.0

Front end noise diagnosis; help needed

Hello everyone. Last week my Explorer started making this loud metallic noise in the front end. I replaced the drive cv axle and no change. I took the front diff out thinking that may be it but everything inside looks ok, no big metal peices, no worn gears. I then took the cover off the tcase as...
  5. Mikey98Ex5.0

2000 Explorer CV Axle Question

Hello, working on my brothers 2000 Explorer. I noticed this seal appears to be not seated correctly. This is how it looked when I took the hub off. What exactly is this seal for? I haven’t seen one like it before on a CV axle. Is it some kind of hub seal? And would it require a new axle if the...
  6. Mikey98Ex5.0

Cam Sync question