Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. MountaineerGreen

Front Drive Shaft (4406) question

I think you may be on to something. The reduced angle could cause pre mature joint wear and the length adjustable shaft could magnify that effect. There were some factors there I hadn't considered. I haven't crawled under an explorer / mountaineer in years, I'm getting out of practice. I bet a...
  2. MountaineerGreen

I can't see how the double cardian will twist or bind. I always thought up to a point, more joints made for a smoother transition. But, I'm not an engineer either. An expedition driveshaft is tested and proven, just make sure you don't get one that is too long. There was a length issue depending...
  3. MountaineerGreen

After we took the lift off my Mountaineer, it drove fine using a standard driveshaft up until the time it hit the tree. I certainly don't think the double would cause you problems unless the u joints are worn. The clunk you mention when in 4x4 sounds like your joints may be worn. Has it always...
  4. MountaineerGreen

Can I pull roughly 5500-6000 lbs?

You wont break an axle or blow your transmission. Braking and trailer control may be an issue if the water is sloshing around. Id pull it, but carefully.
  5. MountaineerGreen

Solved Explorer Towing Capacities

Ill bet the engine will wheeze going up the hills. Do you have trailer brakes?
  6. MountaineerGreen

Car trailer on a 97 ex

I don't know if I would do that extreme of engine braking. You might could shift into third going downhill but I don't think I would pull it down in the 2nd and 1stunless it was a really steep hill with sharp curves.
  7. MountaineerGreen

Car trailer on a 97 ex

I'd say that you'd be fine. Braking distance will increase dramatically, keep plenty if distance.
  8. MountaineerGreen

Upgrade towing capacity?