Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. F

8.8 IFS into an Explorer.....lets discuss this.

What do the newer F-150s use for a front diff? I thought they use a 8.8, would it lend itself to easier use then the rear irs 8.8?
  2. F

Steering Shaft Knuckle boot

Mine has had a torn boot for a few years, looks just like the pic above, and other than an occasional rock getting in there, it hasn’t caused any issues.
  3. F

Tow points???

I use and would highly recommend a front reciever with a Warn reciever D ring as a tow point. It does fit with a stock bumper, at least it did on my '96. I have been wheeling this setup hard for 5 years and never had an issue. I'm currently looking to sell my front reciever as well as I'l...
  4. F

Torsion Bar Broken

This rig has been a trailered, trail only, rig for the last 5 years. It maybe saw up to 20 miles on the pavement at any one time. Our trip to Canada was 30+ miles on the way to the trails and 60 miles back (the street driving suuuucked!). We were headed northwest from Goulias River on Highway...
  5. F

8.8 IFS into an Explorer.....lets discuss this.

I like the idea of finding a stronger option, 1/2-1 ton '87+ GM trucks come to mind. But what locker/gear choices do you want that aren't readily available? The D35 IFS is essentially the same rear end as the D35 in 94 and newer Jeeps (yj, xj, tj, etc). You can get gears from 3.27 up to...
  6. F

explorer sport pics

Here's a few from my recent Canadian Bush adventure! Fot those who are interested, all the pics from last weekend can be found here: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=268725
  7. F

Building A Brush Guard/Bull Bar?

I posted pics of the one I made in this thread: http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=393031
  8. F

Torsion Bar Broken