Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. G

How Well Are 4th Gens Holding Up?

Well it is difficult to find a 4th gen Explorer with the 4.6 and I would rather have a regular part time 4wd system over the awd system. I found an EB with 120k miles on it. I checked the Carfax through my Geico app and found that the transmission was overhauled. I’m hoping to get off of work...
  2. G

Of course, buying used is a gamble... the Explorers I have owned in the past we’re known for transmission issues but I didn’t experience any with them even with over heating one at one time. I’m more knowledgeable on the 1st and 2nd gens... and maintenance is key for sure...
  3. G

Yeah, I had a 2000 Explorer with the SOHC and the timing chain got slop around 195k. The guides and tensioners were supposed to be better after 2003 but I’ve had no experience with them after 2000. Ford transmissions always have me skeptical even though mine weren’t bad but everyone else seemed...
  4. G

I’m curious as to how these newer versions of the 4.0 SOHC hold up with higher mileage. I just sold my pickup since it was getting in bad shape and found a couple of 4th gens. 2 around 150k and 1 around 117k and the prices vary per truck and back in the 2nd gen days I wouldn’t be afraid to buy...
  5. G

Ford Explorers at the SEMA Show

Thanks for the pictures, Rick. Those are both good looking 5th gens.
  6. G

Has anyone added 3rd row to their 2 row?

I’m a long time member here but have only owned 1st and 2nd gens and haven’t had an Explorer in a couple of years. I’m looking into buying a 3rd gen because of the room and as a daily driver instead of my gas hog of a pickup. I found a 3rd gen 5 speed that is 4WD! Which most of you know is rare...
  7. G

new Explorer owner

Welcome! This is an awesome place to learn about your Explorer whether its routine maintenance, repairs, or modifications you'll learn about it on here.
  8. G