2005 Sport Trac how to dain old gas | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2005 Sport Trac how to dain old gas

smalltownusa

Reaction score
City, State
Western Maine
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Sport Trac XLT 4WD
I'm getting closer each day to restarting my Sport Trac.
So while I am working on my brakes I have been thinking about the next step(s)
One issue that I knew I would need to address is old gas.

Looking at my gas gauge it appears there is ~1/4 of a tank in there.
At first after smelling the gas I added a full can of Sea Foam, but after much rethinking I believe the best way to avoid injector, and other issues is to drain that old gas out then add fresh gas and maybe another can of Sea Foam.

Being a novice I thought aha I'll just buy a siphon kit thinking my vehicle is old enough to still allow me to siphon the gas. Unless I'm not doing it properly I cannot push the hose down into the tank. I can push the hose in a small way then it feels like I hit a bend, and with a little push it goes by it a little more then stops without getting into any gas..

I was hoping there was another way short of crawling under there, and dropping the tank.

Just thinking out loud would it be a simple thing to disconnect my fuel filter (hoping it's in a easy location), and somehow connecting a hose to it, and just turn on the ignition and let it pump itself dry? Am I missing something?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You can pull the filler neck hoses off and probably get a siphon on here. Otherwise a fitting on the spraeder valve, and a hose, and purge it using the fuel pump.

Mbrooks420 do you mean disconnect the filler tube right at the gas tank? I don't know what the spraeder valve is ? I take a look underneath to see if I can disconnect the filler neck hose.