5R55e testing after rebuild -- problems | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5R55e testing after rebuild -- problems

EricB123

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Mazda B4000
I rebuilt my 5r55e, changing all the soft parts and several of the hard parts. Everything looks good tolerance wise. But since I've never done this before I thought I would test it before reconnecting the drive shafts. Without a load, I found that in R it spins ok and the engine idles up. However shifting to Neutral doesn't seem to do much. The engine idles down and the rotation is less, however it doesn't seem to be in neutral as the drive plate keeps spinning in the same direction. Shifting into D doesn't seem to change the direction, it idles back up.

When shifting back into park, it sounds like the parking paw won't engage, as it rattles and rattles until I shut off the engine. Once off, if I turn it by hand it is engaged. Putting it in any gear with the engine off, it seems to spin somewhat freely in any direction.

1. Is this R -> N -> D spinning normal behavior with no load? Or should it stop in N and spin the opposite way in D?
2. The parking shifter can't seem to get to 1, however if I disconnect from the level it can. It seems like the range on the shifter isn't quite right for some reason. Could it also be not letting the parking paw engage? Or is there a problem with coasting (Neutral) so that it doesn't stop spinning and thus can't engage.

Does anyone have some suggestions as to the problems or what I should look at? Or other tests?

It's possible that the shift solenoids could be in the wrong locations. I was under the impression that they were the same. I did change out the EPC.

Thanks,
Eric

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!