91 Explorer 4x4 troubleshooting question??? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

91 Explorer 4x4 troubleshooting question???

Robar

Reaction score
City, State
Michigan
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 EB X Sport
First let me say you guys have a great site and forum here. I have learned a LOT just from lurking and reading.

Second let me say I am not a mechanic, I'm a 40 year old parts changer!

Okay here we go. I have done a lot of searching and reading on this site and that helped me narrow down my problem so No, thumping the shift motor or rebuilding it isn't going to help. I already thumped it and we are to early in the game for the rebuild. SO here it is.

when pushing the 4wheel HI or 4wheel LOW buttons nothing lights up, no clicking in the back from the computer, nothing happens.

We (My dad who has been a mechanic most of his life and I) unhooked the connecter at the buttons and tested them to see if they were getting any juice. There IS power to the switchs. We even changed out the origional for a junk yard button set that the previous owner had laying in the back seat.

The computer has power. When I pushed the little reset or test button the red led comes on and stays on for 20-30 seconds give or take. The point is, it comes on and stays on for a period of time then goes out.

So we have power to the computer and the shift buttons but no lights come on when the buttons are pushed, nothing happens.

Next we tested that gaggle of wires that plug in down at the transfer case some of which go over to the shift motor. NO POWER! Ignition was on, but no power to any of those wires. I even tried pushing the HI & LOW buttons, nothing!