98 Explorer 5.0 AWD $650 repair Bill - Not a pulley - harmonic sound? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

98 Explorer 5.0 AWD $650 repair Bill - Not a pulley - harmonic sound?

ELeBlanc

Reaction score
City, State
brooklyn, ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Ford Explorer
I am not a mechanic at all and everything is done by my mechanic (in NYC).

On today's menu:
Replace two rear shocks $300 - said this was essential as they were rusted at the bottom
Replace Serpentine Belt $125
Replace leaking transmission line $75
Replace Exchaust gasket between Cat and ??? $150 - said this was essential if an inspection was soon

Do these sound like reasonable figures for both parts and materials? I suppose I should have written this earlier when I could've got input on things like shocks...

Einar

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Were the shocks rusty on the bottom, or oily?

Its tough to comment on the other stuff without knowing the condition of the old parts. I know shops typically make good money replacing stuff like belts and shocks, so those prices are not out of the ordinary if your not willing or able to do it yourself.

Many shops charge between $75-$100 per hour for labor, plus they mark up the cost of the parts they buy by up to 60%. I don't want to make you feel bad, but I do 99% of my own repairs (just farming out the jobs I don't want to do). From what I see the cost of your parts might have been around $250... ? so the rest is labor. I guess if you have to pay someone to make repairs the prices aren't out of line, but as said a lot depends on the amount of labor necessary to make those repairs. Many shops charge flat-rate for labor. This means you pay a flat-rate for a repair, whether it takes them 30 mins or 5 hours to fix something.