Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Anyone have experience with installing a tranny rebuild kit?

Discussion in 'Transmissions & Transfer Cases' started by CarlosHRNYC, February 14, 2018.

• Searches ExplorerForum.com
    1. CarlosHRNYC

CarlosHRNYC New Member

City, State:
      Pine Bush, NY
      Year, Model & Trim Level:
      2004 Explorer XLS
      I have a master rebuild kit I purchased for my 5R55S and I just want to make sure I hit all the seals, gaskets, etc. If anyone has done this before I'd love to hear how your experience went and if you have any tips/suggestions.

I have already pulled the tranny and have some hard parts on order.

I also have a Superior Shift Kit that I plan to install in the valve body but for that I have detailed instructions that came with the kit and there are plenty of videos on YouTube that show the necessary steps.

There's not much I can find online on rebuild kits. I do have the ATSG Tranny Manual for the 5R55S so I can at least follow that.

Thanks

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself, and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

to hide adverts.
    3. transman304

transman304 Elite Explorer

City, State:
      Morgantown WV
      2001 Honda Accord