Bad Erratic Misfire/Not Spark Plugs | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Bad Erratic Misfire/Not Spark Plugs

phil.o

Reaction score
City, State
pondrejack@gmail.com
Year, Model & Trim Level
pondrejack@gmail.com
My 1998 Ford Explorer 4.0L OHV recently started misfiring erratically. I took it to the shop and had them take a look but since I'm rather low on funds I had them do my brakes and I decided to do the plugs, wires, and ignition coil myself. This is the first car I've ever worked on. I replaced the alternator last summer and now am trying to remedy this problem, so I'm a relative novice.

After getting those three things done-there was one bad spark plug that I could tell just from the difference in color-I started the engine and nothing significantly different. It maybe ran a bit smoother than it had before but has quickly deteriorated to the point where I'm hesitant to drive it any distance.

Now, I don't know if this matters but when it's sitting in park it runs rather smooth even if I rev the engine up to 4kRPM. It will smoothly accelerate and decelerate in neutral. As soon as I put it into gear I get an erratic knock and at high speeds while accelerating the occasional ping(sounds like its hitting the hood). But the acceleration in gear is awful and makes the car run worse; I can definitely feel a lack of power.

I took it up and had them run the computer on it. The computer read out cylinders 5 and 6 misfiring with the list of causes: intake manifold gasket, mass air flow sensor, plugs, wires, coil. After that I cleaned the mass air flow sensor and throttle control sensor but that didn't work either.

This brought me to the point of thinking maybe it was the manifold intake gaskets but people around me who know some things about engines don't understand how that would cause my car to run that bad. And also there is no liquid of any type on the pavement under my car ever.