Changed Plugs In my 05 explorer XLT 4.0L now it idles rough at low rpm idle. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Changed Plugs In my 05 explorer XLT 4.0L now it idles rough at low rpm idle.

Eric87

Reaction score
City, State
sturgeon bay WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
05 ford explorer v6
So to start off Im new to working on Ford vehicles. Recently purchased this explorer, it ran well, but its got some miles on it so I decided to give it a once over and do some preventative maintenance. Air filter, oil change, the muffler had a hole in it so i put a new one on, and fixed the broken ground wire in the door and all went well. But after changing the plugs, which are motorcraft, I noticed it ran pretty rough at low idle rpm and would have a slight misfire, also felt like it had a slight power loss while driving but not as rough as when idling. Naturally I thought it was a issue with the plugs so I did some research on the forums read stuff about making sure to check the gap which I didnt at first so I pulled them out and gapped them to .052 (owners manual says gap spec is .051-.056). Still no change, I then thought maybe I had a bad plug wire so I replaced those and still no change. Then I thought maybe I had a faulty plug so I bought a new one and changed out the plug on the cylinder my code reader said had misfired and still no change. After that I though maybe I had a some weird fluke type of coil failure so I replaced the coil and again nothing changed. I feel Ive ruled out the ignition system, I quadruple checked my plug wire sequence. Now Im down to checking for a vacuum leak but Im not even sure where to start, all I can say is I need help. Im extremely frustrated because ive done this on other vehicles before with no issues, and in "fixing" something that wasnt necessarily broken I made it worse and Im having a hell of a time pinning down the issue here. At this point Im looking for any advice on what direction to proceed in