• Register Today It's free!

double din install kit

jtm087

Reaction score
City, State
Woodbridge, Virginia
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 sport
I just recieved the double din kit for my 96 ex, and a single din radio wont fit in it it's too tall and too wide!!! If you have two single din's are you supposed to cut the middle trim out? and what can I do for the width other than dremel it down?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm an ex installer. Did an install similar to what you want to do. Honestly, I'd get a kit. In the case of a double din, it will require filing and fabrication of a trim ring of some sort for a finished look. In my case, I created it out of fiber-glass and painted it to match. It's not the easiest thing to do, but a good custom audio shop would probly do it for $150-$200 for you.

Yea I go that part, the filing of the car radio bezel trim isn't the part im having trouble with, Its the actual scosche fd1330b double din install kit im having problems with. The trim frame is too short and not wide enough for a one let alone two single dins to fit in. I read in another post that you dont even need the front trim, just screw the sides of the two units to the side pieses included in the kit, has anyone else done this? were their any issues with it falling out?

I have din-1/2 installed in my '99. There doesn't seem to have any room for double din without modifying the dash opening. '96 year may have different design.

jtm087 said:
the triming of the car radio dash trim isn't the part im having trouble with, Its the actual scosche fd1330b double din install kit im having problems with. The trim frame is too short and not wide enough for a one let alone two single dins to fit in.
My problem is with the kit not the dash itself

Are you installing two din units or a single unit double din size?