Ford diagnostic software | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Ford diagnostic software

thorongil

Reaction score
Anyone is using / can recommend aftermarket PC based Ford diagnostic software? (I am new to Ford)

On my VW I am using a product called VCDS that allows me to connect my laptop to the car and do scans, resets, changes - pretty much whatever dealer can do with his expensive computer equipment.

I hope something like this is available for Ford?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

There are multiple scan tools that can plug into the OBDII port that can then be plugged into a laptop to monitor and graph different engine standards.

But unless you are having a concern, what is the point?

There are multiple scan tools that can plug into the OBDII port that can then be plugged into a laptop to monitor and graph different engine standards.

But unless you are having a concern, what is the point?

I find it a very useful tool on my VW - if 'Service Engine Soon' comes out or any other indications seem funny - I just plug my laptop in, check error codes, check my Service Manual and/or internet forums and usually fix the problem myself. I was able to diagnose and fix a glow plug problem, glow plug harness problem, coolant temp problem - without visiting a mechanic, saving me hundreds of dollars in the process.

I find it a very useful tool on my VW - if 'Service Engine Soon' comes out or any other indications seem funny - I just plug my laptop in, check error codes, check my Service Manual and/or internet forums and usually fix the problem myself. I was able to diagnose and fix a glow plug problem, glow plug harness problem, coolant temp problem - without visiting a mechanic, saving me hundreds of dollars in the process.
Everybody wants to eat:)