How to check fuel pressure? How to Force Limp Mode? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How to check fuel pressure? How to Force Limp Mode?

enigma9o7

Reaction score
City, State
Milpitas, San Jose, California
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 Eddie Bauer 4WD V8
My 04 EB stalled and won't start again. It turns over but doesn't seem to fire, although it sputters a bit, never after I stop cranking. I've checked lotsa fuses/relays related to fuel/ignition and tested compression, no problems found.

Two things I want to try. First, how do I check fuel pressure easily? Or if not pressure (without buying something), just a way check to make sure it's at least flowing to injectors or whatever. I'm no mechanic but I can follow directions pretty well... maybe something I can disconnect and see fuel coming out?

Is there a way to force an engine failsafe mode? On my car, all I have to do is unplug the MAF sensor and then it forces a limp mode that'll at least run til I figure out what's wrong assuming fuel/compression/spark are ok.... I think it uses some rich fuel mix and ignores sensors and the ecu only does the bare minimum; does explorer have something similar?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!