Joe's 1998 Ford Explorer Sport Police Interceptor | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Joe's 1998 Ford Explorer Sport Police Interceptor

Reaction score
City, State
PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 Sport
Hey guys! After much procrastination I figured I would finally make a registry after much of the heavy lifting is finally done!

This is my 1998 Ford Explorer Sport and in the short time I have had it it sure has gotten me through a whole helluva lot!

Photo076.jpg

Here is a picture with my truck next to my brother's cruiser.

Let me start with some basic background; I am an 18 year old high school senior. I go to a vocational school for automotive simply just as a way to get out of regular school, not as something I plan on doing for a living. I come from a law enforcement background; everyone in my family is a cop! I will be going to school to do the same thing in the near future.

G2SM7dca5d0d-ec20-469c-b11f-c61500ac8b0a-43041.jpg

This is a picture of my first truck I got when I was 16; a 2002 Chevy S10. I loved this thing to death! But it sure did fight me, every day I felt like something else would go wrong. The truck just was not practical; my girlfriend always gets me to adventure with her and we could not take this anywhere!

So I sold that truck for $5400 to a guy in Kansas (yes he traveled all the way up to Pennsylvania for it!). This truck sold in mid February 2011.

So onto the search for a new vehicle! I wanted a V8, Manual Transmission, Pick-up truck. After much searching; this was not practical they were all too pricey. Then this gem came up. 1998 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0 OHV V6 Manual Transmission and 109,000 miles. All that for only $2200! I could not pass up that deal; I bought it the next day.

This is the day I brought it home (well.. had someone else drive it home, I had never driven a stick before)
Project001.jpg