• Register Today It's free!

Pop goes the tranny!

ifixairplanes

Reaction score
City, State
haverhill mass
Year, Model & Trim Level
95 eddie bauer 4x4
Hi all. Recently I lost 2nd gear in my explorer :( On saturday the boss (I'm a mechanic) let me take over the shop for a day to yank it out.

Gotta say it wasnt too bad of a job. Biggest PITA was getting the exhaust out of the way.
I am very happy ford had the insight to put the trans wiring harness on two main elec. connectors.
I was kind of suprised to see only 4 studs on the torque converter that attached it to the flex-plate. But I guess it works.
When I dropped the pan, I found some parts in there. One part looked like a band clamp, dont know what the other 2 parts where. The tranny guy will fill me in.
Next weekend: The install.

What is everyone running for fluid in their trannys? I was going to use some of that Pennzoil multi-vehicle synthetic. Either that or Amsoil synth.

I miss my truck so much. I have been driving my moms hyundai accent. oh man, what a POS.

BTW: My truck made it passed 155K with the original tranny...

Sean

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm using AMSOil syn. I'm at 105K.

What you most likely found were pieces of the intermediate band. Keep us posted.

Yes I'll keep you posted. Hopefully the tranny dosnt cost too much. Christmas is coming soon......

sean

OK. So the tranny guy called me today. He said I broke an intermediate band, had worn clutch plates, and some other various worn out parts. Total will be about $1200 for the rebuild. Not as bad as I originally thought it would have been. wish me luck on the install next weekend...