Rebuilt 5R55S, please help me DECODE what the repair shop did. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Rebuilt 5R55S, please help me DECODE what the repair shop did.

dmbaile2

Reaction score
City, State
Denver, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Lincoln Aviator AWD
I just purchase a 2005 Lincoln Aviator that had the transmission rebuilt just a couple months before I purchased it. All I have from the rebuild is the invoice, I am trying to learn as much as I can about these transmissions, but I am not a mechanic, please help me decode the invoice. The questions I have circling around in my head are the following:

-Does it look like it was quality work, a thorough rebuild? Good parts?
-Can expect this transmission to last longer than the original one (which only lasted 83k miles…)
-Should I contact the transmission shop that did the repair, if so, is there anything specific I should ask? About parts used, ect.
-What can I do to help this rebuilt transmission last?

Here is the invoice exactly as written:

“Customer states shifting is hard when accel RPM shoots up then pops into gear 2-3rd gear”

1x Banner Kit…………………... $307.88
1x Filter………………………….….$16.60
1x Sole Body………………………$247.00
1x Relief Valve………………..….$31.00
2x Servo Assemblies……….….$149.30
2x Band…………………………......$53.36
1x Rear Band……………….……..$41.50
1x Torq Conv Sonnax Disc…. $388.50
11x Fluid (B) – Oil………………….$79.75
5.7x Labor R R………………………..$684.00
8.1x Labor Banner Service……..$972.00
1x Shop Supplies…………….….$48.98
1x Internet Coupon…………. -$100

Total Charged: $3,020.99 after tax.

Transmission comes with a 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty.

Thanks for any help!