Towing with a lowered Ex | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Towing with a lowered Ex

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I am using Ground Force springs (1.6" lower) and 20 in wheels with stock height tires (275/45/20?). The boat is a 27ft Checkmate, I have been towing the boat for the last 2 years without any problems. The Ex didn't sag (from tongue weight) any with the stock springs, so I guess I was wondering if it will sag any with the GF springs?

Well, generally speaking, lowering springs are stiffer for less body roll and handling- from my experience. You will have less suspension travel before bottom out, so should you hit a big bump with the tongue weight it may be more harsh. My biggest concern will be the load capacity of your tires, low profile tires are often not rated for much weight as they trade off daily capability for performance.

As long as your boat isn't too heavy, and you get a proper ball mount for your new stance, it should be fine. If you don't get a new ball mount, your trailer could pitch forward, resulting in more tongue weight and thus more sag.

From my experience with Explorer transmissions, I'd suggest that your suspension is the least of your worries...

All of the Explorer transmissions are based on the old Ford C-3, which was developped for use in the 4 cyl. Pinto. Yes, they have been modified for better reliability, but they are also pulling around an SUV that is 3 times what the Pinto was...

I'd say nothing more than a fishing boat (and by that, I mean aluminum 16 foot with a smallish outboard!). With that, your suspension won't be an issue anyway.