Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums

Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums "Serious Explorations" (http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Stock 1995 - 2001 Explorers (http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=100)
-   -   Keyless Entry Transmitter Programing (http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=312743)

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 04:34 PM

Keyless Entry Transmitter Programing
 
I just purchased a 1996 Explorer Eddie Bauer edition.

If came with out the Entry Code or Transmitter.

I found the Entry code where it belongs.

I aquired a used transmitter from a ford dealer (used and at no cost)

I put my key in the ignition, turned the key on and off five times, locks cycled, I pressed any (and all) keys on the transmitter, nothing.

I replaced the batteries prior to starting the programing AND I have checked to make sure they are in the right way.

so....can anyone help me figure out what is going wrong.

Thanks

ncranchero 04-06-2011 05:25 PM

Post all of the information on the back of the remote. You may not have the correct one.

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 05:30 PM

TRANSMITTER 1
FCC ID: CQ43VT4T
DOC: 1470 K763
TRW Inc 3165189

ncranchero 04-06-2011 05:44 PM

Looks correct

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 05:47 PM

So why would they not work, one of them works with my other 97 XLT

ncranchero 04-06-2011 06:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stcmtemn (Post 2699235)
I put my key in the ignition, turned the key on and off five times, locks cycled, I pressed any (and all) keys on the transmitter, nothing.

you went from Off to ON 5 times and ENDED in the ON position, correct?

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 06:37 PM

Yes,

FWIW I just successfully programed the FOB on my wifes 97XLT with no issues, however my 96 EB will not accept the programing

ncranchero 04-06-2011 06:49 PM

They should program the same and either remote work with both. Have you tried programming the 97 remote to the 96?

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 06:50 PM

Yes, and it did nothing as well

ncranchero 04-06-2011 07:13 PM

You have checked the fuses? (#12 20A in the under hood fuse box,#20 7.5A interior box)Check and be sure the remote antenna is plugged into the RAP module firmly. The RAP module is located on the left rear quarter panel behind the interior trim panel. That's about all you can do without a NGS tester.

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 07:22 PM

Question, if the car is RAP module is telling me that it is in program mode, wouldn't the fuse be okay?

ncranchero 04-06-2011 07:31 PM

Most likely true. One fuse is constant power, one is switched. I'm just CYA.

It sounds like the RAP is not receiving the signal from the transmitter, antenna maybe?

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/...d.php?t=192268

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 07:33 PM

There is no Maxi fuse in splace number 12 under the hood.

stcmtemn 04-06-2011 07:37 PM

Looked at a diagram, what was listed as #12 on the truck is listed as #3 in the diagram, 50a Auto Ride Control System.

ncranchero 04-06-2011 07:56 PM

You have mail.@ gmail.

Let me know how it goes. I have to check out for the evening.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Copyright 2014 - 1996 Rick Horwitz Photography


Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.