Serious Explorations Ford Explorer and Ranger Message Board
#1 Resource for Ford Explorer and Ranger Owners - By Enthusiasts, for Enthusiasts.


Ford Explorer Generation Guide

EF Swag Store 2015 Ford Explorer Forums Elite Membership Chat Room My Posts Reviews Explorer Photo Gallery
Go Back   Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums "Serious Explorations" > Ford Explorer Ranger Repair - Troubleshooting - Modifications & Detailing Forums > Modified Explorations!!

Notices

Modified Explorations!! Closed to new posts. Place new posts in our new model year appropriate forum

Disconnecting Battery to Reset Computer

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2004, 02:37 PM   #1
superbeast
Pittsburgh, PA
2002 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Disconnecting Battery to Reset Computer

I was just told by a mechanic that disconnecting the battery screws up a lot of codes and causes problems. Is this true? I thought you disconnected the battery to reset the computer.
superbeast is offline  
( Join the Elite Explorers )

For only $20 per year you can become an Elite Explorer member. Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose and fix problems yourself, and learn which modifications really work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members can change the forum "styles" to eliminate most ads, including blue underlined links, and no ads on photos. Other benefits include the ability to store 1000 Private Messages, upload photo attachments directly to your posts and to our Photo Gallery and more. Join the Elite Explorers today.


Old 12-23-2004, 02:40 PM   #2
ExplorerSportNu
St.Louis - MO
95 Sport/ExpeditionPkg
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,643

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Welcome to the site, disconnecting the battery DOES reset the computer, it does erase problem codes that are stored, but I'm pretty sure that is dosen't screw up a lot of stuff or anything that I know of for that matter.




__________________
95 Sport on 35's / 5-6" of TorsionTwist = No problems
ExplorerSportNu is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 02:48 PM   #3
superbeast
Pittsburgh, PA
2002 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExplorerSportNu
Welcome to the site, disconnecting the battery DOES reset the computer, it does erase problem codes that are stored, but I'm pretty sure that is dosen't screw up a lot of stuff or anything that I know of for that matter.
He told me that it causes new problem codes when you disconnect the battery and reconnect it.
superbeast is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 02:54 PM   #4
aldive
Elite In Memoriam
 
aldive's Avatar
1999 XLT
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 25,243

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well, your mechanic just gave you a reason to fire him/her.




__________________
Al Franklin

My truck

My Quest for 30

RIP Al Franklin! 1947-2010. Gone but not forgotten! :(
aldive is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 03:01 PM   #5
ExplorerSportNu
St.Louis - MO
95 Sport/ExpeditionPkg
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,643

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldive
Well, your mechanic just gave you a reason to fire him/her.
LOL no kidding, get a new mechanic cause this one sucks




__________________
95 Sport on 35's / 5-6" of TorsionTwist = No problems
ExplorerSportNu is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 03:02 PM   #6
BigBadWimp
Beaver Falls, PA
'94 Sport
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 298

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
heh




__________________
So sayeth Brett......

1994 Sport

31s, Flowmaster Exhaust, KKM Intake, the rest of my $ goes to keepin' her running...
BigBadWimp is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 10:50 PM   #7
Doug904
Sponsor
Jasper, Alabama
2005 Roush GT
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 535

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
When you remove the battery cable for a good lenth of time your basically reset the PCM to its ROM(read only memory). The same as unplugging your desktop computer.

Like before mentioned the facts you were given are a good determining factor on who not to use. Try someone about 20 years younger

Later Doug.




__________________
(edited by Admin)
Doug904 is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 03:01 PM   #8
jgilbs
Elite Explorer
Naperville, IL(home)/Iowa City, IA(school)
 
jgilbs's Avatar
92 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,213

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
actually, if you have emissions codes and you disco the battery, a new code will appear saying the battery was disconnected. this is so people with OBD-II dont just unplug their batt before they get their emissions tested so they can pass even if they have a problem.
jgilbs is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:39 PM   #9
superbeast
Pittsburgh, PA
2002 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Well, I didn't say that he was MY mechanic. He was the dealer's choice as a mechanic. My 4x4 high light is flashing and needs to be serviced. This guy didn't fix it correctly the first time, so I won't be going back there again. I'm hoping that it is just the module needing replaced. The dealer is paying to fix it. Thanks a lot guys.
superbeast is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:59 PM   #10
Raminator157
Mopar Moderator
Essex Jct Vermont
 
Raminator157's Avatar
05 Ram 1500
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,123

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I heard that you can only really reset the computer fully on pre 95 explorers and up until 96. They say that on the newer ones if your check engine light came on before its still going to stay on in the future until it is serviced. I know on my Explorer my Check engine light comes on and off all the time because my computer automaticlly resets it. My O2 sensor is shot.




__________________
Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDraper View Post
if you can't Dodge it...Ram it!!!
Useful Articles
Raminator157 is offline  
 



Suggest this thread to friends:



Join the "Elite Explorers" Today!



Search Explorer Forum


Top of Page

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.



US Flag
We Support Our Troops!

Explore the site!


Copyright 2014 - 1996 Rick Horwitz Photography



Ford Motor Company is not involved in the management of this site in any way.



All tips on this site are for use at your own risk and discretion.

Modifying the suspension on any vehicle will cause changes to its handling characteristics.



Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.