Replace ring and pinion gear , or just bearings? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Replace ring and pinion gear , or just bearings?

cjk911

Reaction score
City, State
Leesburg, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
My dad's 99 XLT (99,000 miles) has been diagnosed with needing a new rear end. He has the standard issue of bad grinding/whining while accelerating, but it goes away when you get off the accelerator. Sounds like pinion bearings to me, but the mechanic he took it to said he can put a used rear end in there for 1200 dollars.

Now I'm not exactly sure what the mechanic means by "rear end". My dad is going to call him on Monday to find out, but after some research, it seems like the better idea is to rebuild the diff. I want to do this for my dad since has done so much for me, and I am a decent shadetree mechanic. But I am unsure how much needs to be replaced. Is the ring and pinion gear normally a replacement item? I think I can probably get away with just bearings and seals. After checking online, I see several different rebuild kits or bearing kits for this truck. It's also a LSD, will that make a difference? I know the best plan is to pull the cover and look, but he lives in Wilmington (six hours away) and I will have to do the work in one weekend, so I may not be able to get parts right away down there. I'm trying to get everything together for the work.

Also, does anyone have any recommendations on an on-line parts store for the rebuild items?

TIA,
Chris

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I just bought an 8.8 rebuild kit from www.completeoffroad.com, got what I feel was a pretty good price.

If the rear end has been making noise for a while now, I'd think your gears are probably shot as well.