Serious Explorations Ford Explorer and Ranger Message Board
#1 Resource for Ford Explorer and Ranger Owners - By Enthusiasts, for Enthusiasts.


Ford Explorer Generation Guide

EF Swag Store 2015 Ford Explorer Forums Elite Membership Chat Room My Posts Reviews Explorer Photo Gallery
Go Back   Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums "Serious Explorations" > Ford Explorer Ranger Repair - Troubleshooting - Modifications & Detailing Forums > Under the Hood

Notices

Under the Hood Ford Explorer and Ranger, Engine, troubleshooting, modifications, performance and accessories.

Faulty replacement ECM?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2008, 07:14 PM   #1
mupmanyu
Denver, Colorado
1995 Sport
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Faulty replacement ECM?

Hi:

I have had a range of issues on my 95 XLT Explorer (manual, EEV-IV), so let me give a bit of history before I get to the question.

i) I have failed emissions twice, with HC and CO readings which are off the charts (HC 7 times overlimit, CO 3 times overlimit)

ii) I could not access scan codes for the check engine light for a long time, as my ECM was fried. This is based on the fact that I recently got a new ECM over craigslist from someone who claimed that it was from the same explorer, and am able to communicate with the ECM now.

iii) Obviously, I am running rich, even with the new ECM, but scanning the ECM gives me weird codes.

First off, the options it gives me for the engine are 4.9L, 7.3L diesel, and someone else, but nothing for 4.0L V6. Secondly, the codes correspond to transmission oil sensors, torque converters, and what have you. I also get some (cars only) codes! So, its obvious not that my ECM is not for the truck, rather some car with a different engine.

iv) The way the car is running seems to fit the diagnosis - when I run it cold, initially, it runs okay, but after a while (after warming up, or open loop), it loses power, idles rough, etc.

Finally, questions:

i) Should I reflash this ECM, or should I try shopping for a new ECM from junkyards. The 1995 ECMs are tough to get, so I am exploring the reflashing option.

ii) Is there someone on this forum who can take my ECM via mail order and reflash it for me?
mupmanyu is offline   Reply With Quote
( Join the Elite Explorers )

For only $20 per year you can become an Elite Explorer member. Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose and fix problems yourself, and learn which modifications really work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members can change the forum "styles" to eliminate most ads, including blue underlined links, and no ads on photos. Other benefits include the ability to store 1000 Private Messages, upload photo attachments directly to your posts and to our Photo Gallery and more. Join the Elite Explorers today.


Old 05-26-2008, 12:21 PM   #2
Mike_D
Redondo Beach
93
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i would suggest finding the code off your ecm and trying to find a computer on ebay. I've seen a few for sale lately and if its federal you've got even more interchangeability.




__________________
93 Explorer: Motor- 4.0 .030 over/p&p heads/210 cam/jba headers/test pipe/bassani muffler/bbk throttle body/vortech mass air/kkm Susupension-camburg extended beams 4x4/coil over and bypass per side/deavers/extended shackles
Other-fiberglass fenders,hood,rear doors & quarters
Mike_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 01:15 PM   #3
mupmanyu
Denver, Colorado
1995 Sport
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
thanks.

Thanks for the reply.

I cannot locate the ECM that would fit this car. I called a dealer, and he said that 1995 is too old to look up based on the VIN number.

Is it possible for anyone here to look up the correct ECM that would fit my car, or is there any resource that allows me to look up based on my VIN number?
mupmanyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 01:20 PM   #4
410Fortune
ELITE BRONCO2ERER
Crawlorado
 
410Fortune's Avatar
B2 Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 21,972

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Why do you think your original 95 PCM is bad?
95 is an odd year because it has an OBD-2 diagnostics port but the computer itself is still OBD-I

I have not seen a reason why you think your original 95 PCM is fried, just because your scanner couldnt talk to it, I suspect you are using the wrong scanner for a 95 and in 95 you can do a self diagnosis with a paper clip (like the 91-94 trucks) to pull codes.

Used PCM's at the junk yard are $35, Advance Auto keeps their inventory in the computer based on the PCM code

YOU MUST USE A 95 EXPLORER PCM for your transmission, 94 may or may not work IMO, 96 definatley not




__________________
96 Explorer daily driver build-1996 XLT 5.0L AWD to 4x4 conversion complete on 33's
88 BII 5.0L conversion - BII 5.0l drivetrain thread
My Bronco II - 1988 Bronco II 4x4 V8 on 35's - registry and updates
Wifes 07 FJ build - 2007 FJ cruiser locked and lifted
410Fortune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 02:00 AM   #5
mupmanyu
Denver, Colorado
1995 Sport
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Re:

The PCM was diagnosed to be fried by the ford dealership. I decided to take it to one after going through around 10 shops in a year, trying to read off the codes. Each and every shop gave up, but there are so much confusion.

You are right about the OBD-II issue, as most of the shops assume it is OBD-II after they see the port under the dash. So, the codes were not read even after we put in a OBD-I scanner to the connectors under the hood.

Anyway, I sent some SOS emails to folks on ebay selling ECMs, and finally found one kind soul who was able to look it up based on my VIN number. Again, you are right, it has to be a 1995 computer. I got hold of one shop around 200 miles away that carries that computer, and I get it in on thursday. Will post on how that computer holds, and takes care of all these weird codes I have been reading off the scanner..
mupmanyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Suggest this thread to friends:



Join the "Elite Explorers" Today!



Search Explorer Forum


Top of Page

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.



US Flag
We Support Our Troops!

Explore the site!


Copyright 2014 - 1996 Rick Horwitz Photography



Ford Motor Company is not involved in the management of this site in any way.



All tips on this site are for use at your own risk and discretion.

Modifying the suspension on any vehicle will cause changes to its handling characteristics.



Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.