I can't remove my oil drain plug. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I can't remove my oil drain plug.

orange256

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLS 4.0 6cyl
I am trying to change my own oil in a 1999 Ford Explorer XLS 4.0 6 cyl.

This is my first time doing it. I went under my car and thought I found the oil drain plug. I was under the impression it would be facing towards the back of the car, but the only plug I found faces down towards the ground. It's a 13mm bolt, but I just cannot remove it. My socket and vice grips just keep rounding the head off. I'm definitely turning it the right way, I just cant break it free. Does anyone else have a 1999 explorer and could you give me advice on what I might be doing wrong? Thank you.

Edit: Posted in wrong forum, sorry.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Some heat might help. If you don't have a torch, drive the car around for 25 or so minutes and then try to break the plug loose (but don't remove the plug yet as the oil is still hot).
Posted via Mobile Device

I always change my oil hot, it gets more gunk and old oil out. you have to be careful though

Get some PB blast and soak it down, DO NOT AND I REPEAT DO NOT use the vise grips they will round it off more. PB blast wait an hour or so go out again and add more wait another hour if that doesn't help and you make it so totally rounded go get some gator lock sockets that grip rounded plugs and buy a new drain plug and gasket.

Also, on my 98 the plug is on the passenger side of the pan it is 13mm and when you pull it out it hits the sub-frame so I'd put old rags on it to minimize the "damage"