
|
|
|
| 2013 Ford Explorer | Forums | Elite Membership | Chat Room | My Posts | Reviews | Explorer Photo Gallery |
|
|||||||
| Home | Register | Members Rides | Vendors | Top Posters | FAQ/Rules | Social Groups | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Exploring every thing under the sun!! A general forum for whatever you would like to post. Humor, anecdotes, non-controversial news items, etc. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Elite Explorer
Michigan
04 CV LX Sport
|
Do you guys think this is a scam?
So I see this ad on Craigslist:
http://detroit.craigslist.org/mcb/ele/2170710258.html "apple ipad 3G 64GB with wifi- never opened- sealed - $400" Date: 2011-01-20, 1:39PM EST Reply to: [Errors when replying to ads?] New with box. Warranty available ------------------------------------------------------------------------ So for $400, naturally I shoot the guy an email, I simply said let me know if you still have it, id like to buy it tomorrow. (Last night) He (They) reply: "Hi, it is still available. Brand New, Factory Sealed, Factory Unlocked, All Accessories included and comes with a 1 year Apple care warranty. We are a virtual online store registered in Miami and Pensacola, Florida. Shipping to any destination is free of charge via (USPS or Fedex) We are currently exercising a New Year special sale promo which will be limited for just 7 days, making it the reason why you have had the opportunity to purchase at such a discounted price. We also offer a Buy 2 Get 1 free(Smart Buy). View Our Inventory: www.wirezincorporated.com How many units are you looking at? Let me know Regards, Depoe." So I check the site out, and everything seems legit. Theres no reviews or ratings or anything though. I email back, and say "Well if this is legit, id buy 3 of them" Response: "Thanks for your response. 2 x Apple Ipad 64GB 3G + Wi-fi: $800 (Includes one extra unit for free) We dont send out our serial numbers as it could tarnish the warranty on the units. All units are Brand New, Factory Sealed, Factory Unlocked, All Accessories included and it comes with a 1 year Apple care warranty. For payments we accept Western Union Money Transfer and shipment commences same day you make payment with provision of a tracking number confirming your shipment status. We are Dun & Bradstreet Listed Our Website: www.wirezincorporated.com You can verify us from: www.dnb.com/us Business Name: Wirez Inc state: Florida Your delivery is 100% guaranteed. Kindly send your full delivery details if you are still interested to enable us prepare and send you a purchase invoice for your order. Photos attached Regards, Depoe." He sent me 3 pictures in that email, of BOXES of iPads, probably showed me 100+ units. Whats leading me to think its a scam 1. The fact that a brand new 64GB 3G is only 400$ 2. The fact that theyre giving 1 away free when you buy 2 3. Wont send a serial number 4. Used that "Kindly send out full delivery details" like most scams use 5. Western Union. Whats leading me to think its legit, 1. Theyre answering my questions, and actually know how to type 2. They have a legit looking website (I recently started looking for deals on CL, some iPads are going for 300$ on there, and then I can sell them on eBay and make a little profit, all going to my bank account, to save for my new tranny) __________________ '13 Dodge Charger RT |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Wannabe Elite Explorer
The Cradle of Naval Aviation
2001 Sport Trac 4X4
|
That Pensacola Adress is less than 6 miles from my house. I'll be out and about today anyhow. I think I'll drive by to see what's up. Your right. A deal that sweet should be questioned. But if it's real, I might get 3 and sell them all for a little profit.
![]() Edit: I also checked the Pensacola Craigslist but they don't advertise on it as far as I can tell. Smells fishy? Why not sell close to home and save on shipping? |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
B
Humboldt Ks
1997 Mountaineer 5.0
|
it is involving Western Union so it is probably a scam I would not do it
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Elite Explorer
Topeka, KS
00 V8 Mountaineer
|
Scam, apple controls new product very close, they would never let a vendor sell at that price. And anyone can make a legit looking website it's not that hard.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Human-Animal Hybrid
Carmichael, CA
'97 Sport 4x4
|
The Western Union payment method screams out scam to me. Once you wire the money it is gone. See if they will accept a major credit card (Visa, MasterCard, etc.) because you can ask the CC company to reverse the charges if it turns out to be a scam.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Aerostar Forum Moderator
Brooklyn, NY
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
|
Do a search on the Better Business Bureau's website to see if they are registered, and if there are any complaints.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Wannabe Elite Explorer
Kitchener, Ontario
'07 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
|
I agree with it being a scam. With a Western Union money order/transfer you have no way of actually finding out who got the money or getting it back if/when your iPad's don't show up.
<edit>- Just Googled them. Inconsistencies in address's and company names. No BBB reports. The regitered 'owner' shows up a few times for various companies, and Wirez Inc comes up as registered in 2007 and currently inactive in Florida. I think this is a quick way for you to lose $800. __________________ Sean 07 Jeep Sahara Unlimited- mine 03 Explorer XLT- hers 98 Sport and 05 EB- retired Last edited by Cozmik; 01-21-2011 at 12:26 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | ||
|
disturber of the peace
calgary
99 eb 5.0 awd
|
Quote:
__________________ '99 EB 5.0 AWD, Torque Monster Headers, 1" Trick Flow UI spacer, Custom Volant based CAI (incl C&L MAF body), SCT XC2 w/Henson tunes, Flo Pro catback, EE swaybar & airdam, Morimoto HID projector retrofit (4300K), Bilstein shocks, Powdercoating by Turdle, Amsoil everywhere, other stuff. Quote:
|
||
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Elite Explorer
Michigan
04 CV LX Sport
|
Well in appreciate the responses guys, and no harm was done by posting this, let alone in the thread called "Everything under the sun."
I might exchange a few more emails and see if I can't get a couple serial numbers from them, and see if they accept anything besides WU. __________________ '13 Dodge Charger RT |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Wannabe Elite Explorer
702 LΛ§ V£GΛ§ NV / МØΠΤΣΓΓΣΨ ΜΧ
91 ×∟┬
|
i think it s a scam. I just dont see why it could ever be "factory unlocked"
__________________ http://www.youtube.com/user/unaffiliatedperson ---)()(MUGSHOT()(--- All I wanted was a pepsi, just one pepsi! and she wouldnt give it to me just a pepsi! |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 | ||
|
disturber of the peace
calgary
99 eb 5.0 awd
|
Quote:
__________________ '99 EB 5.0 AWD, Torque Monster Headers, 1" Trick Flow UI spacer, Custom Volant based CAI (incl C&L MAF body), SCT XC2 w/Henson tunes, Flo Pro catback, EE swaybar & airdam, Morimoto HID projector retrofit (4300K), Bilstein shocks, Powdercoating by Turdle, Amsoil everywhere, other stuff. Quote:
|
||
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
sextion525
Red Bluff, Ca
1975 Ford Bronco 4x4
|
This scam is painfully obvious. That website was registred and created on December 27th of 2010. So they've been in business almost a whole month! Nothing screams scam about that. Western Union? I don't think they're ever used in any scams either. A price too good to be true? I've never heard any warnings about that. Seriously, I don't see how you could even think there is a 1% chance of this being legit.
__________________ Support the Forum '13 3.5 Explorer '08 2.0 Focus '75 5.0 Bronco '04 6.0 Super Duty |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
Keep on wheelin John Rock
Jonesboro, Tx
'92 Explorer
|
Quote:
I'm 100% in agreement with it being a scam, it's too good to be true and using WU are red flags. Plus the serial #'s might show up as stolen. Pics of boxes do not mean that anything is in the box. A link can be made to say whatever the seller wants it to say. IMO, don't take the bait. __________________ HELL YES I'M AN AMERICAN. I HAVE SERVED MY COUNTRY, NOW I AM GOING TO SEE THIS LAND!!! ![]() The "Dr. Jack" http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/...d.php?t=257885 Demon4x4.com I ain't here to win a beauty contest!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
B
Humboldt Ks
1997 Mountaineer 5.0
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Elite Explorer
McClure, Pa.
96,97
|
How can I say this nicely.....Only a dumb sh*t would fall for that....all the clues to *scam* are there.....
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 | |
|
Living in Greenland
Holland, MI
'00 V8 XLT
|
__________________ Quote:
Last edited by Joe Dirt; 01-21-2011 at 02:34 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 | ||
|
USMC 1371
Worcester, MA
2002 XLT V6 4x4
|
It is a 100% SCAM!!!
From craigslist's "How to avoid being scammed": Quote:
__________________ Quote:
|
||
|
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
Elite Canuck, Eh ??
In the Great White North where winter never seems to end ,Ontario,, still ice fishing,,
96xl,99xls,old Rangers
|
i can hear the music from the end of that Jackass movie now,
if your gonna be dumb, you better be tough,, __________________ Log Roller,, Fox Coilovers 35's and others, , Truck of the month Ranger Of Danger,,,project truck, also look for Blues Traveller Elite registry, , |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
Down Under Beer Explorer
Albany, Western Australia
2004 XLT V6 4x4
|
I have a bridge for sale, Its in Sydney and spans the harbour. I only accepy western union as payment and if you purchase before the 31/01/11 I'll through in a free opera house.
__________________ Me-Greg Lynch,Henson Performance,half hornet scoop,blue cobra stripes,Irvin bullbar,red heeler alarm(my dog),K&N,skid plate 2 1/2" exhaust,265/70/17 AT's,1.25" wheel spacers front,1" wheel spacers rear,CB+dual whips/1981 FLH Heritage Edition-Pamela My wagon Uma
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
Elite Explorer
Topeka, KS
00 V8 Mountaineer
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Suggest this thread to friends: |
|
|
| Thread Tools | |
|
|