Serious Explorations Ford Explorer and Ranger Message Board
#1 Resource for Ford Explorer and Ranger Owners - By Enthusiasts, for Enthusiasts.


Ford Explorer Generation Guide

EF Swag Store 2015 Ford Explorer Forums Elite Membership Chat Room My Posts Reviews Explorer Photo Gallery
Go Back   Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums "Serious Explorations" > Ford Explorer Ranger Repair - Troubleshooting - Modifications & Detailing Forums > Explorer Audio & Navigation

Notices

Explorer Audio & Navigation Audio and navigation systems. CD, DVD, MP3, GPS, Video, Mobile Computer, Speakers, Amplifiers.

Factory sub amp blown?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2011, 07:24 PM   #1
CJL
2000 AWD Ex
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 102

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Factory sub amp blown?

I have no power to the wires that go to the sub.I tried 2 different speakers and got no sound.

The door speakers work fine if that means anything.

Is this a common problem with the factory amp?

Last edited by CJL; 02-11-2011 at 08:06 PM.
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
( Join the Elite Explorers )

For only $20 per year you can become an Elite Explorer member. Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose and fix problems yourself, and learn which modifications really work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members can change the forum "styles" to eliminate most ads, including blue underlined links, and no ads on photos. Other benefits include the ability to store 1000 Private Messages, upload photo attachments directly to your posts and to our Photo Gallery and more. Join the Elite Explorers today.


Old 02-11-2011, 07:44 PM   #2
CJL
2000 AWD Ex
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 102

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
I probed a couple wires on the left side of the amp and it shows 12+volts.

I have a mach system but a premium radio,could that be a reason?
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:03 PM   #3
synyster
Hammond IN
'02 Limited V8
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 148

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Could be the sub...or a fuse..or a burnt up wire. What guage wire's are you using? Whats the output of your system?....how do you have it wired up?
synyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
CJL
2000 AWD Ex
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 102

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Sorry I meant the factory amp,not aftermarket.
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:17 PM   #5
synyster
Hammond IN
'02 Limited V8
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 148

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
ohh thats another story then haha... one of which I'm not familiar with.
synyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 02:31 PM   #6
CJL
2000 AWD Ex
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 102

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
I read somewhere about a mute wire/button on the factory HU. Since mine HU was swapped,is there a way I can splice the turn on wire?
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 03:54 PM   #7
CJL
2000 AWD Ex
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 102

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Ok I got the factory sub/amp to work. I had to make jumper wires from the ignition to audio mute, LF+ to sub+ ,LF- to sub-. Only problem is there is treble from the sub and static.

So this tells me that my radio is not sending the proper signal/voltage to the sub amp.
Is there a way to work the sub from a non mach radio?

That way I can remove my jumper wires and go back to the stock way.
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:08 PM   #8
maddpyro
san fernando ca.
1999 mercury mountaineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
where is this audio mute/wire located? i have the same problem with my 99 mounty, how did you remove the sub? i removed all the screws around the sub, and it will rotate, but will not pull out! i want to check that audio mute button but don't know where it's located

thanks

MaDDpYrO
maddpyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:30 PM   #9
scucci
98 Sport
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 697

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Schematic:
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/...7&d=1179974291

Stock amp turn on signal is 5 volts logic level - not 12 volts. It is labeled as high audio mute on the schematic.
scucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:19 PM   #10
CJL
2000 AWD Ex
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 102

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddpyro View Post
where is this audio mute/wire located? i have the same problem with my 99 mounty, how did you remove the sub? i removed all the screws around the sub, and it will rotate, but will not pull out! i want to check that audio mute button but don't know where it's located

thanks

MaDDpYrO
There is a bolt going through the magnet,have to remove the enclosure to access the bolt.
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 12:26 AM   #11
maddpyro
san fernando ca.
1999 mercury mountaineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
no wonder! lol it kept rotating left and right! ok ill remove the entire unite no problem, now if I can locate the audio mute thingy! lol thanks for your help the schematic shows the wiring and it helps to see the wire color codes and such , but doest tell you "the audio mute button/wire is under the passenger seat to the left" type location. can any one help? is the located by the stereo, or by the amp? or some where in between?


thanks for your help.
maddpyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 07:17 PM   #12
scucci
98 Sport
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 697

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Audio mute wire comes out of the harness 8 pin connector at the back of the radio and goes to the passenger side kick panel, under the door sill trim plate and behind the interior panel to the amplifier 10 pin connector and is colored as shown in the schematic.
scucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:56 PM   #13
mic98xlt
West Haven, Ct.
98 XLT
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 228

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Remember that third smaller plug connector on the back of your radio? Pull it off and make sure that on the radio itself the pin are physically there. Many Ford radio's had where the third connector could physically plug in but the pins with the output for the sub woofer are only present on the Mach models. If indeed you have a premium model, I bet they are missing yet it does indeed have a slot for the third connector to plug in (park). Just checking different connection points for the 5volts on the third plug starting at the back of the radio should also confirm where the sub woofer signal is being lost to the rear sub amp.
mic98xlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 12:11 AM   #14
maddpyro
san fernando ca.
1999 mercury mountaineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thanks guys i'll have to check that stuff, if i cant get it working, then I'll just get an aftermarket stereo installed lol ill try ur suggestions , hope i can fix this, cause my wife drives a 2001 xlt ex. and she doesnt have the rear sub. on her truck and it sounds better than my mounty with the sub. back there. I'd figure the my mounty should sound better than an ex. w/o the sub. back there, wouldn't you think? idk! thanks again.
MaDDpYrO1!!
maddpyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 06:15 PM   #15
scucci
98 Sport
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 697

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
The mounty with the Mach sub system has a built in eq that limits low frequencies to the door speakers. If the sub doesn't work you will have very anemic bass. The ex has full range sound to the door speakers.
scucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Suggest this thread to friends:



Join the "Elite Explorers" Today!



Search Explorer Forum


Top of Page

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.



US Flag
We Support Our Troops!

Explore the site!


Copyright 2014 - 1996 Rick Horwitz Photography



Ford Motor Company is not involved in the management of this site in any way.



All tips on this site are for use at your own risk and discretion.

Modifying the suspension on any vehicle will cause changes to its handling characteristics.



Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.