Serious Explorations Ford Explorer and Ranger Message Board
#1 Resource for Ford Explorer and Ranger Owners - By Enthusiasts, for Enthusiasts.

Ford Explorer Generation Guide

EF Swag Store 2015 Ford Explorer Forums Elite Membership Chat Room My Posts Reviews Explorer Photo Gallery
Go Back   Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums "Serious Explorations" > Aerostar Tech Forum > Aerostar Forum

Notices

Aerostar Forum The Ford Aerostar shares a lot of common parts with the Ford Explorer. Besides that a lot of our members own an Aerostar and an Explorer.

What's the difference between Mercon and Mercon V transmission fluid?

Old 01-07-2012, 12:29 PM   #1
speleopower
cocoa bch
1997 Aerostar

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Question What's the difference between Mercon and Mercon V transmission fluid?

Recently I did a trans fluid change along with a new filter.
I've been changing the trans fluid every summer for quite a few years.
Immediately after changing the fluid this time my van started coming out of drive for a couple seconds. The engine will rev up if I give it gas like it is in neutral. A second later the transmission catches and away I go. This only happens one time after starting up and driving in the morning when the van is cold. It can happen again after the van sits all day at work.

What I just realized it I have a 1997 with and automatic transmission and it is supposed to get Mercon V. I checked the ATF fluid bottles I got and I was sold Mercon not Mercon V.

What is the difference between Mercon and Mercon V. I'm planning on draining my transmission and replacing it with Mercon V tomorrow.

Thanks-Scott
speleopower is offline   Reply With Quote
( Join the Elite Explorers )