My 2nd Gen iPad Install (LOTS OF PICS) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

My 2nd Gen iPad Install (LOTS OF PICS)

BrianDye

I'll have another...
Reaction score
City, State
Monroe, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 XLT
I started this whole little thing about 6-7 months ago, got sidetracked :rolleyes: (Imagine that:D) and put it off to the side.

*PLEASE EXCUSE MY HEAVY BONDO USE. Lol, im not good at all at laying the bondo down, but in the end, it still/will look good*

It was for a 1st gen iPad to be mounted where the radio is.

I have since sold the iPad, and upgraded to "The New iPad" (Aka 3). The bezel has been just sitting in my room, untouched.

I had also bought a "Sport" console piece to replace my message center, and cupholders. (The Sport piece has larger cupholders, and the big storage cavity).

7db6a23a.jpg

Roughly painted, and thrown in:
cc402027.jpg

Here was mine, after paint and a rough cutout for the headunit:
IMAG0273.jpg

I had the "prototype" so to speak all setup. Radio installed, ipad mounted up, etc.
IMAG0265.jpg

IMAG0616.jpg

(Dazed & Confused:D)

The rubberized case I had at the time on the bezel sucked. It was impossible to get the iPad back out. So I ordered a new cheap plastic case from eBay for like 3$

IMAG0631.jpg

Cut all the middle guts out, and used 2 hot glue sticks to get the piece angled just right.
IMAG0624.jpg

I dont have many good pictures, but thats about where I stopped and gave up for the time being. I had the radio down in the console for awhile though. This is a bad picture, but about the best one I have to show how it looked.
46aa426f.jpg

It didnt quite sit flush, as the console piece was curved, and I needed another 2 cm maybe, after having all the wires connected to the back of the radio.

So lets fast forward many months-