• Register Today It's free!

04 4.0 overheating intermittantly

Ali19

Reaction score
City, State
Ellenton FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 Ford Explorer XLT
First off, Hi to everyone! Although I am new to signing up I have used this forum for many of my fixes for my explorer for years and love the information I have received. Also sorry if this has been repeated again and again but I'm on a tight schedule for getting this baby back on the road!

To the point, My explorer has been running just fine and the on my way home for lunch I was pulling onto my street and I see 'check gauge' lit up on the dash, I first thought gas, I was running low but not that low! Too Hot!!! so I pulled over and turned the motor off right away. Since then I couldn't get it to get too hot again but it will every now and again, Its only been 3 days. From what I can see its only when I'm sitting at a stand still in traffic and only for a good while like a few minutes. Motor was rebuilt last year, think I have 10k on her since and she had a new water pump, fan clutch (I think but I'm pretty sure). Thermostat is still original to my knowledge.

From what I'm seeing, I'm thinking its not the thermostat as the top radiator hose is hot right after she gets warmed up and I have also noticed that if the gauge starts to climb, if I rev the engine it will go down. I'm not ruling out water pump or fan clutch as the replacement water pump lasted 5 days and failed and was replaced with another new one (think it was from advanced)

I'm pretty handy but have not replaced the fan clutch myself so if were thinking it is then I may need some pointers. If anyone else has any ideas then please, I will be most appreciative!

Thanks again for everything!

Ali

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!