Serious Explorations Ford Explorer and Ranger Message Board
#1 Resource for Ford Explorer and Ranger Owners - By Enthusiasts, for Enthusiasts.


Ford Explorer Generation Guide

EF Swag Store 2015 Ford Explorer Forums Elite Membership Chat Room My Posts Reviews Explorer Photo Gallery
Go Back   Ford Explorer and Ranger Forums "Serious Explorations" > Ford Explorer Ranger Repair - Troubleshooting - Modifications & Detailing Forums > Explorer Audio & Navigation

Notices

Explorer Audio & Navigation Audio and navigation systems. CD, DVD, MP3, GPS, Video, Mobile Computer, Speakers, Amplifiers.

button combination to reset your radio

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2003, 05:20 PM   #1
TUFins21
Philadelphia, PA
97 Sport
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
orange button combination to reset your radio

Does anyone know how to reset the radio using a combination of buttons. I have a 97 Explorer Sport, and it has a 6 cd changer. If you know, let me know. Thank you.
TUFins21 is offline   Reply With Quote
( Join the Elite Explorers )

For only $20 per year you can become an Elite Explorer member. Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose and fix problems yourself, and learn which modifications really work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members can change the forum "styles" to eliminate most ads, including blue underlined links, and no ads on photos. Other benefits include the ability to store 1000 Private Messages, upload photo attachments directly to your posts and to our Photo Gallery and more. Join the Elite Explorers today.


Old 03-10-2003, 05:29 PM   #2
Heath
Elite Moderator Intoxicator
Rigby, ID
 
Heath's Avatar
00 Excursion (THE BUS)
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 7,534

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I would think pulling the battery off for 20 min or so to reset the whole electrical system would work... But I'm not positive...




__________________
Rigby, ID
"Never fight an ugly guy, he has nothing to lose"
Mugshot Updated 8/6/10
To support the site and upgrade to an elite membership, Click Me!
Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 06:31 PM   #3
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am having the same problem so let me know if that works
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 06:38 PM   #4
TUFins21
Philadelphia, PA
97 Sport
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 7

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Original Poster)
Jake, I can't do it because I dont have the right tools. If you want to try it, go ahead and let me know. Are you really having the same problem, with the whole headphone thing. let me know.
TUFins21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 08:40 PM   #5
WoodysX
Ashburn Virginia
91 EB & Q
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 306

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok boys, why dont we try it together now...1....2....3!

All you do is loosen the terminals with your hand or a wrench, or yank it off...




__________________
My New Ride
http://www.cardomain.com/id/93blackq45
My Old Ride/System
www.cardomain.com/id/woodmister

AIM- Woodmyster703
WoodysX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2003, 08:45 PM   #6
'96explorereddiebauer
Clemmons, NC
'06 Honda Accord EX-L
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 3,783

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wait...do you have the JBL system?? If so, you can't really reset the system, even taking the battery terminals off. The amp has backup power to it so whatever station presets were programmed would stay. The only thing you have to set is the clock.




__________________
Billy
'06 Honda Accord EX-L
'00 Acura Integra GS
'98 Honda Accord EX-V6
'05 Honda Odyssey EX-L
'96explorereddiebauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2003, 07:54 PM   #7
cobrajeff
Elite Explorer
Daytona, FL
2007 Lincoln MKX
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 257

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
There are no "reset" buttons

There are no buttons to push on the factory radio to "reset" it. I think you are looking for the Rear Seat Control enable, which I posted under your other question about your rear speakers and headphones.

Disconnecting the battery on your Explorer may cause your radio stations to reset, depending upon the model year and the radio model. Older model radios will default to a set of factory preset radio stations, that were often stations local to the assembly plant building the vehicle. Newer models, with Premium level or Audiophile level radios, as 96EEB said, will maintain the last "user-set" radio presets, regardless of how long the battery power is interrupted.

I hope my explanations have been helpful.

regards,

cobrajeff
cobrajeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 12:30 AM   #8
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, my problem might not be the same after all, my radio acts like it isn't getting any power, they clock won't work or anything, i tried unhooking the battery, but it didn't work. I do know that all the grounds going into the radio are good and so are the voltages, i have tried several different radios with the same result, if anyone has any ideas about what might be wrong let me know
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 12:32 AM   #9
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I forgot to mention it but i have a 95 Explorer with a cd changer and i think i might have the JBL system
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 01:13 AM   #10
'96explorereddiebauer
Clemmons, NC
'06 Honda Accord EX-L
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 3,783

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jake, have ya tried to see if it's a connection problem?? Since you said it's not getting power, check all wires are plugged in tight. Check the ones in the rear quarter panel because that's where your amp and sub amp are. It's a big job but it's worth check it out.

Since you have an Eddie Bauer, I'm sure you have a JBL system. If you have a subwoofer in the back, then it's the JBL system. Good luck diagnosing your problem!!

EDIT: Boy do I feel like an idiot. I didn't fully read your post so ignore the top. If you're getting normal voltage and getting good grounds and tried switching to different radios, then I'm sure it's a bad amp. Try swapping it out with another amp for the JBL system.




__________________
Billy
'06 Honda Accord EX-L
'00 Acura Integra GS
'98 Honda Accord EX-V6
'05 Honda Odyssey EX-L
'96explorereddiebauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 08:06 PM   #11
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, i took off the plastic interior of the back passengers side quarter panel to check out the amp, when i did if noticed that where the antenna plugs in it was about to come apart and i was wondering if the antenna wasn't plugged in would it stop the radio from working
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 08:21 PM   #12
ld50
Oh, the money you`ll blow
British Columbia
 
ld50's Avatar
93 4 dr 4x4 manual XL.
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,171

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
I can't do it because I dont have the right tools.
what? who doesn`t have at least an adjustable wrench kicking around? do you just have screwdriver?
-giggle

That`s worse than my dad, but he has a tool box to put his tools in -BOTH OF THEM!





__________________
Jim from BC - My Mugshot


All My Mods And How I did Them
ld50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2003, 06:27 PM   #13
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I changed my amp and it still won't power on, anyone have any more ideas
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 04:34 PM   #14
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok, i still can't get my radio to work, i changed the amp and that didn't fix it, i did figure out that when the key is off if you push the DSP button then push the clock button it will display the time as long as you hold the button down, and also when the key is off the button to eject a cassette works, other than that nothing works, is it possible i have a bad speaker
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2003, 01:17 AM   #15
trouble_shooter
Lacey, WA
2001 Limited
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Greetings, cool site !

I am a factory Ford/Visteon trained electronics repair technician. I've been immersed in blue oval audio for 8 years and my partner in crime has spent 22 years at the bench fixing Ford audio.

Any JBL-LUX(front head unit, rear amp which is actually the radio) with DSP is basically a computer. The front and rear talk to each other on a continual basis even when the radio is off. These unit convert analog to digital and back to analog(ADA), all with software.

Any lock-up or funky audio freaky control problems are software issues and both units(front and rear) need to be reprogrammed. They are a matched pair so swapping front or rear will not solve problems. Sometimes a hard reset, removing battery with ground left connected, over night will help for a while.

If the front control panel doesn't have DSP then they are not a matched set and reprograming is not an issue.

Hope this helps.
trouble_shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 11:34 AM   #16
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tried leaving the battery unhooked overnight, still won't work, even tried it with the original amp, i also checked and all the speakers in my doors are good, do you have any more advice on what i could try or who i could take it to that wouldn't charge me an arm and a leg
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 01:32 PM   #17
trouble_shooter
Lacey, WA
2001 Limited
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
No help on the arm and a leg part. All the service centers have fixed rates for reprograming. An actually only one can do it, Royal Radio in Michigan 800-367-3393---800-482-0821 in Michigan. They will need model # of both units. I dont know what they charge, but they ar the direct source for this type of service.
trouble_shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2003, 04:26 PM   #18
Iowa Hick
Bloomfield, IA
1995 Eddie Bauer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,671

Vehicle Specs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well thanks, i will have to try them
Iowa Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Suggest this thread to friends:



Join the "Elite Explorers" Today!



Search Explorer Forum


Top of Page

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.



US Flag
We Support Our Troops!

Explore the site!


Copyright 2014 - 1996 Rick Horwitz Photography



Ford Motor Company is not involved in the management of this site in any way.



All tips on this site are for use at your own risk and discretion.

Modifying the suspension on any vehicle will cause changes to its handling characteristics.



Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.