Clutch replacement tips and tricks | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Clutch replacement tips and tricks

ipozestu

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
San Mateo, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 Sportie
SO I have never done a clutch before. I am very confident that I will be able to do this but, I wanted to get everything right the first time. So for any of you out there that have done this before any sugestions that you have will be greatly appriciated. I.E. Special tools, supplies, fluids, technique. As of right now I am not looking forward to doing this. I just don't know what is involved. Please help and instill a little confidence in myself.
Thanks a ton,
Jeff

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

All I can say is..............GOOD LUCK!!!:D

Your more brave then I am.

Let me see if I can help you out, as I just did mine not too long ago.

Special tools:
Hydraulic Line removal tool (aka Line coupling tool)

Disconnect the battery; as you have to pull the starter.
Lift the vehicle to give you ample room underneath to work and slide a tranny around.
Disconnect the starter wiring, the transfer case harness (if electronic), Speedo Cable. reverse lights harness, and just about any other wire you see going to the tranny and transfer case.

Unbolt and remove starter, exhaust cross over( from manifolds) tranny crossmember (support the tranny with a jack at the back end) Driveshafts, Transfer case (some say remove it, I didn't) Shifter (inside the truck)

Next (unless I forgot something) you're rdy to start unbolting the tranny from the engine. (Make sure you have a tranny jack (or a really dumb friend) under the tranny to support it.