aftermarket amp to factory HU | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

aftermarket amp to factory HU

inline crimps also check and make sure the RCA's going to the amp are in the input and not the output plug

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I went with 9 gauge, do you think thats the problem? I picked up an amp wiring kit. I am very new at this so I probably picked up the wrong thing?

I would overkill and install 4 gauge. I did that in my car, and changing amps is no problem.

thanks, for all of the help, I've double checked everything and still no luck, looks like I'm taking it to a professional today.

Im thinking the sub may be hooked up wrong. It is a single 8" in a ported box. It has two sets of speaker hookups. Should I run two sets of speaker wires to teh two sets, or one set to one, and hook up that set to the other as well? Does this sound confusing?

It is a duel voice coil sub

Are you using the Infinity amp, or the Pioneer?

You need to hook up the two speaker hookups. How, depends on what ohm load the amp can take, and what ohm the sub's voice coils are.

I found out my problem was the sub. i am not sure what the problem is except for that its very old. I hooked a friends up to my setup and it sounded great. Now is my search for a sub. What kind of a sub can I get that would sound good in a small box? I want an 8 but I want it to fit behind my third row?

what is the best type of small box, ported?

also, I'm not looking for anything too loud. I am running stock head unit and speakers. I just want to add a little bit too it so it sounds good inside. I am looking to sell my ex in the next two years.